Egg Pancakes & Blueberry Sauce

When my parents went out of town for a romantic weekend sans babies, my grandparents would come over and watch us little ones. It was usually in the fall, given the date of my parents wedding anniversary in late September. I have a lot of memories from that time including hunting for buckeyes along the roadside and cuddling with my grandparents. However, the memory which I will forever cherish is our yearly breakfast of, what my grandparents called, egg pancakes.

DSC_9613

An egg pancake refers to a slightly thicker version of a crepe. Whenever I taste the delicious combination of butter and maple syrup, I can’t separate it from the wonderful memory of my childhood visits with my grandparents. At that time, they used to accompany our pancakes with a pound of bacon. Before I was a vegetarian (and let’s be honest, I still do this with veggie bacon), I greedily rolled those little strips into breakfast versions of piggies in a blanket. The recipe is so easy and fast for mornings where you want something a bit heavier, but you don’t have a ton of time.

Egg Pancakes

1 c. all purpose flour
1 c. milk
1 free range egg
1 tsp. vegetable oil
a pinch of sugar
a pinch of salt

1-2 T. butter (for pan frying)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl until smooth. The combination should be a little runnier than normal pancake batter because these are supposed to be big, thin cakes!

Melt 1/2 T. butter in the pan before pouring in the batter. You are going to smother butter on top of the cakes anyways, so you might as well use it for frying and allow it to caramelize on the edges, forming a light buttery crust.

Yields about four 6-8 inch cakes.

I made blueberry tarts the other day in my brand new tart pans, so I had some blueberries left over (the sorrow of baking and cooking solo means you always have half a pint of blueberries, half a pepper, or half a potato that gradually becomes scarier and scarier in its tupperware). Right. So. My blueberries have been patiently waiting for a purpose. I figured I might as well make a quick blueberry sauce to top off my yummy cakes.

Blueberry Sauce (the perfect amount for two!)

1 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen, it doesn’t matter)
1/4 c. water
1/4 c. sugar
1 T. lemon juice
1.5 T. corn starch

In a saucepan on medium heat, combine water, blueberries, and sugar, occasionally stirring gently. While heating, combine 2 tablespoons of water with your corn starch in a separate bowl. Stir together until the starch is dissolved. Continue to heat the blueberry mixture until boiling (the blueberries should begin to break down). Add the lemon juice and corn starch liquid. Continue heating until your berries start to thicken to your desired consistency. Remove from heat. Serve over your pancakes.

I like to add a little maple syrup to mine, but the egg pancakes are perfectly yummy plain too. When I was young, I used to love them with syrup and melted marshmellows. My 23-year-old brother still eats his with melted chocolate chips. So yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

