Mini Bacon & Caramelized Onion Quiches

On Sunday mornings, I have very little that I need to accomplish besides reading the new Sunday Secrets & the new New York Times’ Modern Love article. As a child I was required to go to church, but now that I am older I have my own routine that satisfies my spirit, namely listening to peaceful music, drinking coffee, and not putting on a bra until at least noon. It’s glorious.

Last week, I bought some deli swiss cheese for sandwiches and never quite got through it all. I had roughly three pieces left after a desperate grilled cheese lunch and so why not make quiche?

DSC_7725

I can’t eat a whole quiche, even with friends. Best case scenario, everyone has a piece and then you still have half a pie plate that gets absolutely frightening after two days in the fridge. I have been eating Quinoa Almond Cereal all week, so I thought something warm & salty might be a nice change.

For this recipe, I am using my precious mini tart pans. They make me the happiest. They are so cute and precious and wonderful.

Image

Mini Bacon & Caramelized Onion Quiche (yields 2 mini quiches)

For the crust:

1/2 c. flour
a pinch of salt
3 T. cold butter
2 T. cold water

I see all these recipes using pre-made pie crusts & crescent rolls and all this nonsense. Do you know how cheap this recipe is? Try it!

To begin, combine flour & salt in a bowl. Cut the 3 T. butter into small pieces so it is easier to work in with the pastry blender. Blend in the butter until the flour resembles coarse grains. Create a well in  center to add your water and then gather into a ball. You all know this process now. We just did this exact thing with the cherry hand pies.

DSC_7696
DSC_7697

DSC_7701

Refrigerate dough for an hour or so. Again the lazy-put-it-in-the-freezer-for-15-minutes method works too depending on how quickly you need everything to come together in the morning.

Once cooled, roll out the dough on a pastry mat. Put down your pan as a pattern and cut about an inch extra around the sides. Make sure the dough is a little thinner than 1/8 inch thick. You don’t want any cracks! Place in the tart pan and gentle press against the sides evenly so that the crust is covering all the sides. Repeat so both of your tart pans have a crust.

DSC_7715

DSC_7717

Place in fridge while the oven preheats to 400 degrees. When preheated, puncture the crusts with a fork and bake for 9-10 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.

For the filling:

2 slices bacon, prepared & crumbled
1/4 small red onion, diced & caramelized
3 deli slices of swiss cheese, torn into small pieces
2 eggs
1/3 c. cream or half & half
pinches of salt & pepper

I just moved into this new apartment. The stove works much better than my last stove, so as I was preparing things, everything cooked much faster than I anticipated, so I don’t have good process photos for the filling preparation. That’s okay though. You totally don’t have to use my filling. You could use ham, spinach, parmesan, zucchini, tomatoes, or whatever you want. It’s all up to you and what you have in your fridge.

Anyways, dice your onions and saute them in a little splash of olive oil until fragrant, soft, and lightly browned. If you can multitask, fry/bake/microwave the bacon at the same time.

DSC_7712

Crumble the bacon once it has cooled, so you don’t burn your little fingers and set the ingredients aside.

DSC_7719

In a liquid measuring cup, measure 1/3 c. cream and crack open two eggs. Add your dashes of salt & pepper & whisk it all together until the eggs have broken evenly and you have a pretty light yellow liquid. (I did it the opposite way in the picture. Oops).

DSC_7721

In your now cooled crust, divide the dry ingredients evenly between the pans. Pour the egg mixture over the top until the pans are full or you reach the edge of your crust.

DSC_7722

DSC_7723

Reduce oven temperature to 325 and place both quiches in the oven. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until a knife or toothpick comes out clean. Place back on the baking rack to cool.

DSC_7728

Leave a Reply

