Super Bowl Series – Boneless Wings

In the first quarter of my life, it seems I have depended on others to teach me some of life’s little wisdoms. My mom taught me the importance of simple pleasures like fresh cut flowers, warm cookies, & fuzzy blankets. My sister taught me how to ride a bike & how to do my hair & makeup (though let’s be honest, I have no idea how to do my hair or makeup). My grandma taught me that blackberry brandy is the best nightcap for a long day.

Some lessons come at a great price and carry a great deal of nostalgia. This recipe is one that is weighty in my memory. It was developed between my ex-boyfriend, a lover of fried chicken wings, and me, a reformed vegetarian who didn’t love the thought of eating meat from a bone. It’s one of those recipes that you learn because you care about someone & want to make them happy.

DSC_9580

Spicy BBQ Boneless Wings
yields: 2-3 servings
Needs:
2 small chicken breasts

Wing ‘Batter’:
1 c. flour
2 t. salt
1/2 t. paprika
1/2 t. cayenne pepper
1/4 t. garlic powder

1 c. milk
1 egg

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Chop chicken breast into bite-sized pieces and coat in flour mixture. Set aside for one hour.
DSC_9553Combine milk & egg in a bowl. Dip coated chicken pieces in the wet mixture and roll in the flour mixture a second time.

DSC_9557

In a cast iron or heavy skillet, fill with oil so it will cover about half of the chicken chunks (I always fry things in my cast iron because it has good, even heat. ‘Tis the cook’s choice. Fry however you love to fry things).  Heat the oil to medium/medium-high heat.

DSC_9561

Place the wings in the oil and fry about two minutes on each side, until lightly browned. Transfer to a paper-towel lined bowl until ready to toss.

DSC_9562

Spicy Wing Sauce
1/4 c. Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey BBQ (or whatever BBQ you have)
1/8 c. hot sauce
1/8 c. sriracha
1 T. Butter

In a small saucepan, heat ingredients until the butter has melted & the sauce is smooth.

DSC_9556

Place sauce in a large bowl. Toss with fried chicken chunks to coat.

DSC_9565

Serve immediately with ranch or blue cheese or celery & a cold beer 🙂

DSC_9567

Leave a Reply

