Hot Toddy

Since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to be a witch. I used to think up spells to make the water hotter in the shower and would make ‘stews’ in old pickle buckets consisting of lake water & whatever my grubby child hands found interesting that day. These kinds of childhood fascinations don’t just disappear with age but instead find new ways to manifest in a more socially accepted form. I still dream of having all my cooking spices lined up apothecary style – alphabetically in identical glass jars. I can see bright rows of homemade jams & jellies & pickles & vinegars sitting in the rustic cupboard of my future.

Part of being a witch in the contemporary age is knowing a variety of homemade concoctions, herbs, or potions to heal the sick. The winter blues are pretty brutal mid-February as are head colds & flus. So I am making a magical little drink known as the hot toddy. There is no better cure for a sore throat and a tired body.

DSC_9817
Hot Toddy

8 oz. hot water
1 bag of black tea
1 T. (or 1/2 oz) honey
1 oz. whiskey
1 lemon twist
cinnamon stick (optional)

Let the teabag steep in the hot water for 3-4 minutes. Add the honey & whiskey stir to combine. With a vegetable peeler or a zester, peel a long section from a lemon. Twirl and place on rim. Garnish with a cinnamon stick. Feel warm & happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

