Naturally Sweet Maple Iced Coffee

I’m back! It’s almost summer time and I haven’t written in many moons. My deepest apologies. I have excuses but you are not here for my excuses! You are here for inspiring recipes and pretty photography, so I shall give you those instead.

One thing that I especially loathe about American food culture is how frequently fake/cheap ingredients are used. I strive to make everything I can from scratch 1) because it’s easy 2) because it’s fun and 3) because it’s infinitely more delicious than it’s faux-substitute. It’s iced & frozen coffee season which means the high fructose corn syrup is abound in those $4 plastic cups. I shall give you a cheap & delicious alternative.


DSC_0846

Iced Coffee

needs:
8 oz. cold brewed, or cooled coffee
1-2 T. real maple syrup
1 t. vanilla extract
2 t. half & half
ice

Fill a mason jar with ice. Pour in the half & half, vanilla, and maple syrup (1-2 T. depending on how sweet you like your drinks!). Add the coffee and stir with a spoon. Enjoy your natural, delicious, and cheap alternative naked or indulge with a little bit of whipped cream.

DSC_0848
DSC_0849

Leave a Reply

