Easy Sponge Cake with Pineapple Rum Compote

I’m trying to think of a way to cleverly introduce this post with some reference to pineapples, coconuts, and beaches. But really, I just wanted to make something of the pineapple that I wasn’t going to finish in the fridge (who is going to eat an entire pineapple to themselves within a week? Not me, not this week. I guess I was a little ambitious with that purchase). I had a friend over who said his favorite dessert is angel food cake. Angel food cake?! Of all the desserts in the world, angel food cake?! I feel like there are probably a million desserts that I would eat before I would ever reach for a slice of angel food cake. It takes all kinds, I know. I know.

DSC_0943
I’m making a small batch of this because I can’t imagine what I would do with two cake rounds of this sponge cake without available mouths to feed. If you do have mouths to feed, the good news is that it is easily doubled!

Easy Sponge Cake:
yields one 9×9 inch cake
3 eggs, separated yolks & whites
1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. sugar, divided

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place the egg whites & egg yolks in separate bowls. Add 1/4 c. sugar to each of the bowls. With an electric mixer, begin with the whites and beat until stiff peaks form. Set aside. Beat the yolks until they turn pale in color & are slightly thickened.

DSC_0907
DSC_0910

Gradually add the flour by folding it in with a spatula or spoon. In a oiled or buttered cake pan, pour in your mixture. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean 🙂

DSC_0927

Pineapple Compote
yields about 2-3 cup
1 pineapple, chopped into small pieces
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. rum
1 T. lemon juice
dash of cinnamon

DSC_0938
In a small saucepan, combine all ingredients over medium heat. Allow mixture to simmer for about 10 minutes, or until slightly thickened with a liquidity sauce (this is going to seep into your sponge cake and make everything delicious)
DSC_0924
Now we have so many options!

You can serve this compote…
1. warm over your warm sponge cake like the first picture with some powdered sugar
2. cold over cold sponge cake
3. in a mini dessert form like the one below (shot glasses are cute for this, too)
4. parfait style with the addition of whipped cream.
5. however else you see fit.

DSC_0950

Leave a Reply

